How to use ‘Languages’ under Incoming Calls

VitalPBX Community Support Frequently Asked Questions How to use ‘Languages’ under Incoming Calls

Participant
    Up
    Down
    I am new to vitalpbx but have worked with many asterisk systems for the better part of 10 years. I am impressed with the speed and easy to navigate gui. Truly amazing job! I can see this as an integral part of my offering to my clients going forward. However, I have the following question, hopefully somebody can help.

The instructions say: “This module is used for when you want to change the language of the voice guide in the course of a call, such as when an IVR is used and the user selects a language.”

That sounds like exactly what I need to do, but can somebody explain how?

My situation is, I have an inbound route going to an IVR which has instructions but at the end of the instructions, I want to instruct the caller “For service in French, press 9” If they press 9, I direct the call to another IVR with a french recording, which is fine, but all the asterisk prompts are in the default language still. For example Dial by name, or invalid entry, timeout, etc.

I have figured out how to change the entire system’s language, which gives me the same issue but in reverse.

I feel link I’m missing something very obvious. Can somebody direct me?

Many thanks!

• This topic was modified 2 months, 3 weeks ago by em3services.
Viewing 4 replies - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Replies
    em3services
    Participant
    Up
    Down
    After a lot of experimenting, I figured out how to do this… for the most part. I have only one issue. Is there any way to get the dial by name directory in an alternate language?

My scenario is the following: